This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Complete beginner, help with MVC & MongoRepository

Nov 24, 2013 at 2:33 PM
Hi, I'm probably doing something really stupid here, I figure the best thing to do is just post my code and explain a little.

In my class library I have the following two files

my Entities.cs file
    public class User : Entity
    {
        public string EmailAddress { get; set; }
        public string FullName { get; set; }
        public string UserName { get; set; }
        public string Password { get; set; }
        public string PasswordSalt { get; set; }
    }
my Users.cs file
public class Users
    {
        static MongoRepository<User> repo = new MongoRepository<User>();

public static bool CreateUser(string emailAddress, string fullName, string username, string encryptedPass, string salt)
        {
            var pixelPushUser = new PixelPushData.User
            {
                EmailAddress = emailAddress,
                FullName = fullName,
                UserName = username,
                Password = encryptedPass,
                PasswordSalt = salt
            };

repo.Add(pixelPushUser);

return true;
        }
    }
Then in my MVC project I have the following in my controller
        [HttpPost]
        public ActionResult SignUp(PixelPush.Models.SignUpModel user)
        {
            if (ModelState.IsValid)
            {

var crypto = new SimpleCrypto.PBKDF2();
                var encryptedPass = crypto.Compute(user.Password);

PixelPushData.Users.CreateUser(user.EmailAddress, user.FullName, user.UserName, encryptedPass, crypto.Salt);

return RedirectToAction("Index", "Home");
            }
            else
            {
                ModelState.AddModelError("", "Please ensure you have filled out all fields.");
            }

return View();
        }
I get the following error from the CreateUser method call